Communications Compliance

Contact us

About Us

Communications Compliance was established under the Telecommunications Consumer Protections (TCP) Code C628:2012 (now C628:2019) as an independent body responsible for overseeing the conduct of the Code Compliance Framework outlined in the Code. Communications Compliance will also promote compliance with the TCP Code through industry guidance.


Communications Compliance is governed by a 4 member Board:

David Epstein- Independent Non-Executive Chair

Mr. Epstein has been a senior executive with Optus and Macquarie Telecommunications and a Director of both the Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman (TIO Ltd) and the former Australian Communications Industry Forum (ACIF).

He is Principal of Vigot & Co – a public affairs consultancy, specialising in political risk management, transaction advice, corporate communications, and regulatory strategy – and is an Adjunct Professor within the Deakin Business School of Deakin University.

He has led group public affairs and communications functions at Qantas Airways and BHP Billiton, as well as legal, regulatory and corporate affairs at Optus (Singtel), and been a senior adviser to three Australian Prime Ministers, culminating as Chief of Staff to the Prime Minister. He is also a non-executive director of Opera Australia, The Asia Society-Australia, the European Australian Business Council and Can Too Foundation.

Victoria Rubensohn AM – Non-executive Deputy Chair and Consumer Director

Ms. Rubensohn is the principal of Omni Media, a communications consultancy. She is also an independent reviewer for the Advertising Standards Bureau and a Convenor for the Classification Review Board and a member of the Standing Advisory Committee on Consumer Affairs for the Australian Communications Consumer Action Network (ACCAN).

Michael Lee – Industry Director

Mr. Lee is the Chair of Communications Alliance. He is a former Federal Minister for Communications, a former President of the NSW branch of the Australian Labor Party and member of the City of Sydney Council. He is a Board Member of Sydney Airport and a Director of Calvary Ministries.

Visu Thangavelu – Executive Director

Mr. Thangavelu held a wide range of responsibilities as a Project Manager at Communications Alliance, including Local and Mobile Number Portability, overseeing the development and subsequent revisions of the Mobile Premium Services Code, the development of an NBN Transfer process and the NBN Migration Management Guideline. Prior to that he held roles in network support and provisioning at Commander Communications.

Advisory Committee

The Communications Compliance Advisory Committee is comprised of industry and consumer advocate representatives who act as a conduit between Communications Compliance and their respective stakeholders, providing input on matters relevant to TCP Code compliance. The Committee members are:

  • Visu Thangavelu – Chair
    Mr Thangavelu is the Executive Director of Communications Compliance and a member of the Communications Compliance Board.
  • Cheryl Langdon-Orr – Consumer Representative
    Ms Langdon-Orr has a rich background in consumer advocacy for telecommunications and internet related issues. She is a Director of the Australian Chapter of ISOC.
  • Chris Dodds – Consumer Representative
    Mr. Dodds is a Senior Policy Officer at the Electricity and Water Ombudsman and represents consumer interests on the TIO Council and Telstra’s Low Income Assessment Committee.
  • Michael Elsegood – Industry Representative
    Mr. Elsegood was a senior manager for compliance and self-regulation at Optus for a number of years, having also sat on the TIO Board as an industry representative.
  • Lawrie Clarke– Industry Representative
    Mr. Clarke has held a range of positions in regulatory areas within Telstra and now runs his own consultancy business.

Communications Compliance does not enforce compliance with the Code, i.e. it does not issue fines or initiate legal action for non-compliance. Enforcement of the Code rests with the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA).

Communications Compliance does not accept complaints from consumers and does not engage in dispute resolution. This is the role of the TIO who provides free-of-charge dispute resolution services to residential and small business consumers.

Communications Compliance operates not-for-profit, does not receive government funding and is financed through fees paid by CSPs for the services Communications Compliance renders and for its operations.